Living Gracefully

Carpe diem

Day 2: Feeling Fabulous

As I shared last night, I was exhausted on the first night of the cleanse. I felt weak, hungry and a little nauseous. I slept a solid 9 hours, waking up a little late for work. Surprisingly, I didn’t have that feeling I usually get when I have to rush off to work without time to mentally prepare for the day. I felt awake, refreshed, and rejuvenated, even without a shower. My face, unlike yesterday, looked bright and healthy. My eyes were no longer pink and my cheeks seemed to have more color in them. Maybe I caught up on sleep…maybe it’s the juice. The fact is, I feel great today.

I finished the green juice from last night on my ride to work. The kale and spinach flavor wasn’t exactly a yummy breakfast but I knew that my body needed it, and so I finished it quickly. The morning went by fast at work. I was hesitant to take an early lunch (as I usually do) because I felt like I had such a great momentum going to fly through orders at work. As of now, 11:45 am, I have had about 18 ounces of juice and a glass of iced tea. I could eat but I am not starving. Yesterday, I purchased a box of assorted herbal fruit teas. I am excited to try the blueberry – it smells like blueberry pie. It’s kind of ridiculous how excited I am for a glass of tea. I guess it just seems less mundane than the juice.

In the work fridge, I have two juices left from what I made last night. One is Gazpacho flavored (found online), which I am a little nervous for. I don’t love raw tomatoes but I do enjoy gazpacho, so I’m hoping it tastes more like the latter. Another is a purple juice, made with blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, 1/2 of a beet, red grapes, and a pear. For dinner later, I am anxious to try out the gold beets I found at the produce market. I’ll probably throw in a couple of carrots and a little ginger, too. Tip of the day:

  • If you’re worried about not knowing how to make pleasant-tasting juices, follow recipes in the beginning. After a while, you will start to learn what you like and what you don’t, and how much of each item to use. Then, you can come up with your own creations that you will be comfortable with.

I’m glad to say that I feel much better today. It almost feels as if I just finished a large coffee but without that jittery feeling. I am wide awake, ready to work, and set on powering through that laundry piling up at home. I said, “I can do this,” and today, I have not a single doubt.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment